Today I learned Two things

Fall 2020 is hard. Zoom is hard. Mask wearing is hard. Online school is hard. Face-to-face school is hard.

But I know it will get easier. I know we’ll get into a routine. I know I’ll soon become a Zoom expert. In the meantime, please indulge me while I share two things I’ve learned this week. Both nearly non-consequential in the big picture, but both pretty useful all the same.

Learned Thing 1:

The USB logo goes up. Always. Now I think back to all the times I’ve flipped the USB plug over, tried it, flipped it over again, tried it again, flipped it over, tried it harder. #embarrasing #betterlatethannever

Learned Thing 2:

When emailing video links to students, take a screenshot of your video, then make it a link. Human beings have code encrypted within our DNA that makes us powerless to resist clicking video links when they are included in an email like this. Absolutely powerless. (#jjk, #butyouknowwhatI’msaying)

The link process is super simple, but you have to know the trick. Here’s the trick:

Compose your email. In YouTube, take a screenshot of your video at a moment where your face isn’t terribly contorted. #harderthanitshouldbe #doIreallylookthatawful #yes #buteveryonedoes

After you paste the screenshot into gmail where you want it, highlight the picture it so the whole thing turns blue. (See above)

Then click the “link” button near the bottom of your email window.

You’ll get the dialog box below. Click “Change”.

Paste in your YouTube link in the “Web address” box. Click Ok. Send your clickable, user-friendly email to your appreciative students. Done. Call it a day.

If at any point your see the “Small, Best Fit, Original” box try again. You did something wrong. #AskmehowIknow. The key is in highlighting the WHOLE picture until you get a big mass of blue highlighting.

Bam. Two things learned.

Probably you already knew both those things. But on the off-chance you didn’t, you’re welcome. 🙂 What tee tiny, but very useful things have YOU learned this week? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below.

Leave a comment